Oh, Research!

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not the best at researching. I tend to either go over the top, or get incredibly distract and not end up doing anything. Right now, I’m in the first round of edits of my novel. I’m using this ‘round’ to clean up my major plot holes, and further develop my characters and world. This means doing a whole lot of research that I neglected while I was drafting. Today, I wanted to show a little bit of what that looks like.

MAGIC
Magic is a huge part of my novel, and it’s also the part I am probably most anxious about, so I’ve got a lot of research. I have both non-fiction, and fiction books about magic, such as The Discovery of Witches, The Final Empire, The Book of Lies, and many, many more.

DENMARK
The novel takes place in Copenhagen, so I’ve done a huge amount of research about the city and Denmark in general so far. I actually got to visit in January, and see the places where my main character lives her life. I picked so much up while living there that I couldn’t have found online or in a book—it was incredible.

ICE HOCKEY
My character’s boyfriend places ice hockey, and while it’s not central to the story, I want to make sure I’ve got the details right. I’ve been reading books, watching movies and games, talking to my hockey obsessed friend Milka, and I’ve planned to go see a couple of games once the seasons starts up here. I’m having a lot of fun with it.

The rest of my novel is just day-to-day life experiences, like University, and going out with friends—the sort of stuff you can’t research. So research might not be my strongest skill, but it’s definitely a lot of fun.

What kind of research do you do for your novels? What’s the best thing you’ve researched so far?

4 thoughts on “Oh, Research!

    • And that totally posted before I was finished with that I wanted to say! Whoops xD I wanted to say that I understand where you are with those feelings about research – I usually do too little in fear of doing too much and just wanting to be writing instead of researching xD And your novel sounds like such a cool combination of a lot of different things! My novel is set in China and I agree, the magic of going where your novel is set helps you learn so much! And you end up writing a lot of your experiences into your novel too 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • I worry that too much research who end up making the novel feel too much like an info-dump, rather than an actual story. Oooh, I love the sound of your novel already. I love books set in interesting places.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Writing Update #2: - Tea & Titles

Leave a Reply

